Chocolate Huel Taste

Howdy. I’m new to Huel, and ordered a couple bags each of chocolate and vanilla, and one of the berry. I just tried my first taste of chocolate, and it’s very unpleasant. There’s just a bit of sweet, and not really any chocolate. There’s also a strange, almost bitter, aftertaste. Is this normal? I’ve tried Soylent chocolate, and while not exactly a chocolate lover’s dream, it’s definitely more pleasant than this.

It’s not undrinkable, but I’m not sure I’m going to like it. I’ll be giving a few flavoring options a try that I’ve seen on here, and if anyone wants to give one in this thread so I know I’ve got the current recommendations that’d be great.

I just wanted to make sure this was normal, or something funny with my bag.

Thank you.

3 Likes

Things I have figured out in my huel journey. The thinner you mix it the sweeter it will taste. Let your huel rest for a while after mixing it this will also improve the flavors.

I gave the chocolate a try and ended up giving 1/2 bag away to colleagues at work. I love the vanilla, berry, and U\U, however the chocolate I found far to chalky in flavor. I’ve tried adding cocoa powder, powdered peanut butter, chocolate syrup, almond milk, fresh berries, mixing it with berry, vanilla, and U\U, and I was able to get the flavor better, but never what I would consider to taste good to me.

In contrast I make a morning shake with a vanilla and U/U mix, unsweetened apple sauce, blueberries, and a shot glass of unsweetened apple juice, which I am very fond of! I blend it the night before and stick it in the refrigerator overnight. Delicious! The berry I like with just the powder and water, blend it smooth and yum!

1 Like

Are you able to drink the U/U plain?

Thanks for the reply. Testing thickness and letting it sit are definitely some of the things I’ll be trying.