Preparing Huel ahead of time

I would like to prepare multiple shakes at once that would last me for around three days, and I was wondering if freezing the extra shakes and then thawing them in the fridge before I wanted one would bypass the thing about how you have to drink it within 24 hours? Does someone actually know the answer to this? I know we could speculate, but I want to actually know. Thank you.

1 Like

Well, I’ve had some experience with freezing Huel.

I made Huel ice cream before. I made it real thick. 1 cup milk, 2 big scoops vanilla Huel, frozen bananas, vanilla extract. Froze it and covered it. Then I partially thawed it several days later and ate it semi frozen. Tasted very good.

I am thinking that a Huel shake could probably be frozen, then fully thawed 3 days later and drank as a shake.

2 Likes

I… love ice cream. I’ll try this.

1 Like

Sabra–I have heard of people making Huel ice cream this way. I don’t think it would thaw back into a liquid form properly once frozen–it would probably remain thick.

So, I took one cup of whole milk, two scoops of chocolate Huel powder, two bananas, and blended then froze it. It bananay and good… I had a very small bowl. Now it is super rock hard in the freezer, I’ll defrost some another time to scoop it up.

1 Like

I did it. It worked out great. When it thawss, it just goes back to normal the way that it was when you put it in the fridge. It just takes longer than I thought because I had it in the fridge for like six hours, and then it was still frozen.

Sabra Ewing

2 Likes

I just don’t know if it affects the nutrient content. Why do they tell you the 24 hour thing because it taste bad or because the nutrients will go away? Mine tasted great. It wasn’t separated, it wasn’t a different texture, and nothing was really different about it. I made it and immediately put it in the freezer, and then I just moved it over to the fridge. That way, I can make three or four of them at once.

Sabra Ewing