How much should I order? Brand new Huelie, please help!

Hello everyone!

I would like to start using Huel as a full dietary replacement for weight loss. I’ve done things like nutrisystem in the past, and found that I really enjoyed their shakes and had no problem with primarily consuming those when life got busy (I’m a second year medical student, so life is… very busy…). I don’t think switching to a Huel-strict diet will be too difficult for me (hopefully) and I need to make a drastic change in my weight.

I’m a 24 year old female, 5’7" and weigh 273 currently. According to the calorie calculator, I’d have to consume 2,425 calories daily to maintain my current weight. Just to be clear, I want to LOSE as much weight as possible and begin leading a healthier lifestyle altogether.

So - what should I order? How do I do this? Please give me all of your advice!

I feel like powdered Huel lends itself to weight loss more than the ready-to-drink (RTD) bottles due to its higher protein content, which helps you burn fat rather than muscle during weight loss. Its also cheaper.

On the other hand, if you are going to be out and about all day and don’t feel like carrying powder and a shaker around and having to mix it, explain what it is, etc. RTD still has a good amount of protein and has a much more popular texture.

One “meal” of Huel (one bottle of the RTD, or two level scoops of the powder) is 400 calories. I would start with five “meals” a day, although if you really want to go fast, you could probably get by with four.

As for flavors, I think Berry is the best as far as the powders go. I also think Berry is best as far as the RTD goes as well, but most people seem to prefer the Vanilla RTD.

1 Like

Thank you so much! Your advice is really helpful and definitely appreciated. I was having a hard time sifting through posts to try to find the other newbies who had asked anything similar, I haven’t quite gotten the hang of this platform yet.