Heart Burn and Stomach Acid Not Subsiding?

I’ve been drinking Huel just once a day for about two months now. The heartburn and reflux is just not going away! I started off at 3 scoops as recommended. After that I did two… then one. I’ve tried chugging it, sipping it for a 1-2 hour span of time and half an hour to drink it and it’s not helping. I’m on half a scoop! It’s getting crazy.

I don’t usually have heartburn or reflux problems, only when I drink Huel. I really want this to work, any tips?

Do you drink coffee as well?

Very rarely. When I do I never experience heartburn…

1 Like

Are you adding anything else to the Huel?

If not, I’m afraid there may be nothing you can do to stop the Huel heartburn. You aren’t getting reflux from other foods. And there’s a temporal relationship between consuming Huel and experiencing the heartburn afterwards.

If you were having heartburn chronically or having it with a wide range of foods, or having it while lying flat, then seeing a doctor would be the solution. However, if you get reflux from this one food, then the only reasonable solution is to stop using Huel.

I have reflux but there are certain foods that make it real bad for me. I have to avoid spinach like the plague. Even a leaf and I’m having bad reflux the whole day.

2 Likes

It happens whether I add anything or not unfortunately!

Breaks my heart a little, I love everything that Huel provides. I was hoping there was just an adjusting period or something.

Thanks for your input.

I take one 10 mg over the counter omeprazole a day and it eliminated the heartburn I was getting.

Oh no! Sorry to hear about your not-so-fun experiences. While this could stem from a variety of factors, I agree with @Deron that if you’ve done your due diligence, it could be that Huel’s current formula might just not suit your individual dietary needs and it might be best to stop using it, at least for a period of time to see if there’s a difference.