Six Months of Huel by the Numbers

In early July, I began eating Huel as my primary source of nutrition. I was already eating what would be considered by most people extremely healthy. No dairy, very little sugar, only meat was chicken breasts, lots of beans, rice, and veggies. My lab results from 2018 were completely normal and in healthy levels, so I wasn’t expecting a significant change after switching to Huel.

I was surprised by the results of my 2019 labs. Here are the main numbers. This was with zero change in exercise (I went from no exercise to…no exercise :slight_smile: )

To me, the key takeaway was even better cholesterol numbers with no change in protein, a slight dip in potassium, and a slight bump in calcium.

I’m happy to share any other numbers that are normally present in CBC diff/platelet, metabolic, lipid labs that anyone might be curious about. I’m not a doctor, so I don’t know what they all mean, anyway.

I posted this for people who are like, “I can’t get enough protein in a vegan/Huel diet!” From chickpeas, black beans, and chicken breast to Huel, and no change.

(Yes, I’m aware my HDL should be higher…see “zero exercise” comment above.)

7 Likes

I love this Randy, thank you for sharing!

Your HDL may look a little low but your LDL is looking good.

I would be interested to see your other results if you’re happy to share?

Out of interest, has your fibre intake changed at all?

Thanks for sharing this. Really interesting and also heartening for those of us on the Huel journey.

I never measured my nutrients before Huel, but my diet was pretty consistent. Oatmeal every morning, chicken / beans / rice for lunch, a vegetable or chicken-based dinner. Maybe once or twice a month I’d have a burger, ribs, etc. Popcorn pretty frequently as a snack. I’d say my fiber intake from the rice, beans, and oatmeal was probably pretty high.

2018	2019
Cholesterol, Total		137		101
HDL Cholesterol			41		36
LDL Cholesterol Calc	69		46
Triglycerides			134		97