Busy RN Is Digging Huel

Hello Everyone,

I work as a hospital-based RN and I sure appreciate the value of great nutrition and its impact on health. But like so many nurses, I work 13 hours non-stop and typically don’t have time to eat or drink during my shift.

Ridiculous I know, but that’s life on a busy surgical floor. It doesn’t promote well-being for sure.

I was looking for a plant-based solution to my terrible routine of not eating anything until I got home, and then cramming down 1600 calories plus or minus before trying to sleep before the next shift. Not effective at all!

Poking around on the Internet revealed Huel as what seemed to be the best among several choices and I ordered two bags of vanilla.

I decided to start Hueling on a two-day stretch I had off, figuring if there were any terrible side effects I’d much rather find out away from the hospital. I did (4) 400 calorie shakes each day had no problems at all.

Then today I worked a shift where, at intervals, I chugged Huel while I was charting (I premixed it last night in a blender and brought four bottles with me).

Wow! I had nice stable energy through the day and didn’t arrive home ready to eat the paint off the cupboards. And I was much better hydrated (I can tell because my urine is nice and clear versus tea-colored, which it usually is after a long shift). Big difference.

Because the shaker bottles have a lid, I can keep and drink it at a designated area of the nurses station and continue working. Super convenient!

I eat a whole food plant-based diet that’s high in fiber day to day, so I didn’t have any issues with gas or stomach cramping at all. The diet I regularly eat is even higher in fiber than an all-Huel diet is, so I’m kind of wondering what my bowel movements are going to be like.