Health/Nutrition Question (Refined Carbs eaten WITH HUEL?)

We all know refined carbs (white rice, white bread, sugar) are bad for you because they have no/low fiber and have a high glycemic index.

However, since Huel has lots of fiber, does eating refined carbs with huel LOWER the glycemic index of refined carbs THAN eating refined carbs alone?

^If the answer is yes, does that mean it’s safer to eat refined carbs since you’ve effectively lowered the GI index? If not, why?

EDIT: I’m on a 100% Huel diet (breakfast, lunch and dinner), which helps me hit my total macros for fats and protiens but NOT my carbs, and it also hits my total daily fiber-intake (any more would create too much bloating). For those reasons, I supplement huel with 4 slices of white bread (3 times a day) to fulfill my total macro and fiber requirments for the day.

1 Like

I’m not a nutrition expert, but my understanding is that if you eat a high GI food with other low GI foods, it balances the overall GI. The example I have seen is that a baked potato is a high GI food, for whatever reason, but if you add a bunch of fixings (healthy or not) you have effectively lowered the GI of the meal. So I suppose if you are eating the bread around the same time time as the Huel, you would have a lower GI than if you ate the bread separately.

But, on a personal note, four pieces of white bread!!, really?? That sounds so dull (to me). Why not throw in a piece of fruit or something?

Nutrition experts: please correct me if I am wrong.

1 Like

I ate white rice a lot this last year. A lot a lot. I also ate a lot of white potatoes, another high glycemic index food. I’m 5 ’ 10" and have maintained my weight between 142 and 145 pounds consistently for the last year. But, I don’t consider white rice a refined carbohydrates. It’s a very minimally processed rice which retains the vast majority of the naturally grown rice.