Huel and intermittent fasting

Hi everyone, I’m new to Huel and I’m starting to do IF with Huel to lose weight. Any suggestions? And does it work as well? I’m doing calorie deficit with IF, is it worth it?
Thank you and have a good day!

1 Like

Hey @Raulst. You will lose weight as long as you are in calorie deficit. Intermittent fasting may help you achieve this because you have a smaller window to consume your calories in each day but it is not necessary.

This article may help: https://huel.com/pages/guide-to-fat-loss

1 Like

Well… there’s more to it than a simple calorie deficit, Dan. Yes, a fasting window may help a person eat less total calories in a day. And this may contribute to the lowering of total daily insulin. But there may also be some benefits from a daily fast towards lowering insulin resistance which then promotes a more favorable insulin response (read: less insulin needed from the pancreas) when the person eats during the feeding window. And this may be independent from any change in total calories consumed. I think there was some research in which people were simply asked to change the timing of their meals but not alter total calories, (i.e. do IF but not calorie restrict) and they experienced some weight loss. There is also something I read where the liver processes fats differently when a person eats starting in a low insulin state verses a state of higher insulin. I.e. a fasted state where the person has low basal insulin causes the body to process food differently when
they break that fast than if they were to eat only a few hours after their previous meal. (I need to search my notes for this reference.). Also, during fasting when insulin levels are low/basal, fat more readily comes out of adipose tissue and is available to the rest of the body. Higher insulin levels keep fat locked away in adipose tissue. So going through a daily period of a fast allows the body some more time to be in fat releasing and fat burning mode.